{Product Review} NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa

NYX. I’ve seen this brand around (mostly on youtube how-to-videos) a lot but never thought of purchasing any. For one thing, it’s often compared to MAC Cosmetics, so I thought it’d be expensive. The next was that I didn’t think it was actually available in my country.

I was wrong on both counts.

Nyx is available in the Philippines through resellers. One of these is an online store who also has a stall in Karl Edwards Bazaar and in Eastwood City. My aunt brought us to their Karl Edwards stall one weekend since she’s a fan of NYX foundations.

I’m not a lipstick or lip gloss kind of person. I have my stash, of course, but I rarely look for and buy unless I need them. I’m more of a mascara and eye shadow hoarder. So poking around at their stall, what actually interested me was their various Eye Shadow and make-up kit collections, most of them sold at a very reasonable price.

All I’ve Ever Wanted Make-Up Kit contains 72 gorgeous eye shadows, 8 face colors, 6 lip colors, 4 blushers and 2 face powders. Php1,800. Mel, the saleslady, kept trying to convince me to get this. I wasn’t very interested since I would only end up using the eye shadows (I still have 4 blushes to finish @.@).

Box of Smokey Look Collection – Everything you need for every kind of smokey eye look

Box of Eye Shadows – 112 Eyeshadow shades, PHP 1,800.

I ended up getting the 112 Colored Palette (because, hello, PHP1,800 FOR 112 COLORS!! Is that a steal or what? BeautyPro sells their 6-color palette for the same price, and my usual eye shadow brand sells one eye shadow for PHP330) and my cousin got the Smokey Look Collection.

So yeah, anyway, after some haggling, I got my purchase and was very happy. It was then my cousin showed this product to me–it was a lip creme, in a tube with a doe-foot applicator and it applied matte. I think it just fascinated us, to be honest, since we’re used to things in tubes being glossy or sparkly, or a combination of both.

So before leaving the stall, I tried one out. Then we left.

What convinced me to buy this product?
I went swimming for an hour or so afterwards. Guess which make-up products stayed on? My Majolica Majolica Waterproof Volumize On mascara (which we all know can not be removed unless you use Majolica Majolica Eye Reset Gel) and the NYX Lip Creme.

While my cousin and I were relaxing in the spa after a swim, she told me that my lip color was still on, which surprised me. And when I checked my face in the mirror before I took a shower some thirty minutes later, I was very surprised to find my lips still pink from the lip creme. It wasn’t the same color as I first applied it, of course not, but it was still there. It was then that I decided to get the product if we went back to the bazaar.

NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa, PHP300 (USD6.00 at the NYX website)

Neither lipstick nor lip glossβ€”this is matte lip cream. A new kind of pout paint that goes on silky smooth and sets to a matte finish. Soft Matte Lip Cream is surprisingly durable and, unlike some matte lipstick formulas, also moisturizing. Available in 11 lip colors.

– from the NYX website

The doe-foot applicator is alright, although a lot of beauty bloggers will mark it down for it being unhygienic. Well, it’s creme and it’s in a tube–that’s the only way you can get it out. You can use a lip brush, although it’d be the same thing in regards to hygiene, application would be more precise and less product would be wasted.

This product does moisturize lips slightly and I don’t need to apply lip balm when I use this.


Nyx Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa, 1 hour after application. I absolutely love how it looks. This shade is perfect for night-outs and parties.

And here it is 8 hours later, sans flash:

and with flash:

If you want quality make-up for a cheap price, I recommend trying out NYX products. For Filipino readers, you can look for NYX resellers on Multiply. Digital Traincase and Pretty Goddess are two resellers I know that sell NYX. For international readers, you can order directly from the NYX website. I prefer going to the stall though, so I can test the product first. Make-up and shoes are the two things I don’t shop online for.

I’m going to get Abu Dhabi (a neutral shade) next. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “{Product Review} NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa”

  1. I’ve been wanting to buy those lip cremes! Grrr but like you, I don’t like buying my makeup online. Id rather go to the stalls. Kaso, I rarely go out so i never chance upon any NYX stalls. hahaha Love the eyeshadow palette but i swear, you wont use them all talaga. I got an 88 color one din but sayang coz it’s just there. oh well! :))

    Like

    1. I had a feeling I wouldn’t be able to use all the colors even then, but I want the fact that I have the option to use them, haha! So if I’m on a make-up tutorial watching mood, I can actually try the looks instead of “Ay, don’t have colors like that..”

      I think they’re now in TriNoma πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Comment

