{Book Review} Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Nick & Norah's Infinite PlaylistNick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I read this book because I liked the movie. I watched it on a 14 hour plane ride to New York, among three others.  I didn’t think the movie was a particularly amazing piece of film, it was just a movie that was okay and I wouldn’t mind rewatching it if I saw it on HBO.

Now, I’m the kind of prejudiced person who thinks that the books are always better and tell so much more than the movies.

This book proved me wrong.  While I realize that what I’m about to point out is actually one of the books biggest selling points, and what most people who can actually relate to it love about this book, I can’t help but say that I  didn’t completely get the underground punk Manhattan music scene that was a big part of the book, both in setting, character’s conversations, interests and stream of consciousness. The punk-rock underground snobbery  of it all. I didn’t get it, and that played a part of why I didn’t like this book much. I tried to immerse myself in their culture and all, but it’s hard when I haven’t seen or experienced that particular scene.

I liked the characters though. They weren’t exactly the same as in the movie–Trish was more likeable here, in a way.

But the biggest reason for my dislike was that this book had so many run-on sentences, it gave me a headache. And now I know the reason why run-ons are grammatically incorrect. They induce headaches.

2 thoughts on “{Book Review} Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Leave a Comment

