{Review} Nyx Box of Eye Shadows (112 Colors)


The NYX 112 Color Palette has an array of incredible colors that will take you from classic to extravagant. These eye shadows have various finishes, ranging from glittery to matte, depending on the color you choose.

This palette is packaged beautifully in a sturdy box with two layers. It comes with two eye shadow applicators and a mirror on the lid.

The top layer is accessed by opening the lid, while the second layer is a pull-out.

The top palette contains mostly neutral colors which are suitable for all types of skin tones. They’re perfect for creating an everyday no-make-up look to a smokey-eyed day-to-night look.

The second pull-out level hosts bright bold pastel colors that range from shades of red, violet, yellow, green, blue and pink. The colors are great for parties.

The darker colors on both palettes have better pigmentation. You only need a couple of brush strokes to get a color that pops, while the lighter colors need a lot more product. Try adding a bit of water to your brush before using the lighter colors. The product is also a bit messy and could be prone to wastage.

From the NYX website:
Lovers of eye candy will thrill to the glorious array of eye shadows in this kaleidoscopic kit. Numbering 112 shades, all of them highly pigmented, they range from rich darks to bold brights, from sultry mattes to luminous silvers.

Dimensions
Compact: 7″W x 7″H x 1″D
Extended: 7″W x 16.5″H x 6″D

$34.99

INGREDIENTS: Eyeshadow – Talc, Titanium Dioxide, Petrolatum, White Mineral Oil(Paraffinum Liquidum), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Stearate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, C.I. 77007(Ultramarine), C.I. 77742(Manganese Violet), C.I.77510(Ferric Ferrocyanide), C.I. 77491(Red Iron Oxide), C.I. 77492(Yellow Iron Oxide), C.I. 77499(Black Iron Oxide), C.I. 42090:2(FD&C Blue 1 Al LAKE), C.I. 19140:1(FD&C Yellow 5 Al. Lake), C.I.77019(MICA), C.I. 77891(Titanium Dioxide), C.I. 77861(Tin Oxide), Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Ferric Ferrocyanide. Powder for Face – Talc, Petrolatum, Magnesium Stearate, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, White Mineral Oil(Paraffinum Liquidum), Dimethicone, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, C.I. 77007(Ultramarine), C.I. 77491(Red Iron Oxide), C.I. 77492(Yellow Iron Oxide), C.I. 77499(Black Iron Oxide), C.I. 42090:2(FD&C Blue 1 Al Lake), C.I. 15850(D&C Red 6 Al Lake), C.I. 45410:2(D&C Red 28 Al Lake), C.I. 19140:1(FD&C Yellow 5 Al. Lake), C.I.77019(MICA), C.I.77891(Titanium Dioxide), C.I. 77861(Tin Oxide), Polyethylene Terepthalate, Acrylates Copolymer, Red 34, Red 7, Aluminum Powder, Isobutylphenoxy Epoxy Resin

Now if NYX is following health standards, the ingredients should be listed according to what the products contain most of to the least. The last ingredient caught my eye, since it’s a chemical used for creating jewelry or laminates. I haven’t gotten any allergic reactions so far from using this product.

As for staying power, the colors stay on for six to ten hours if you’re using the bolder/more pigmented ones. The lighter colors only stay for about four hours.

I know I won’t actually be able to use them all but I like the option of having them. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted to follow a make-up tutorial on Youtube only to realize I lacked a couple of colors and had no colors close to them in my very limited eye shadow collection–I only had 10 colors then, and 2 of them were the same shade of pink.

For Philippine buyers, I bought this set from PrettyGoddess in a Karl Edwards bazaar for PHP 1,700 (USD 39). (I haggled for more than 30 minutes to get that price.) For international buyers, this is available on the NYX Website. A hundred and twelve colors for PHP 1,700 is a great deal to me, especially since the pigmentation of the darker colors are superb. I will admit that I do wish the lighter colors have better pigmentation, since I tend to use those more than the bolder ones. But I guess it’s an okay thing, since this’ll force me to experiment with darker and brighter colors more, haha. I just love the range this palette gives me, compared to some other brands that have the same price but only have six or nine colors. (Although, I wouldn’t mind having the Naked Urban Decay Palette…haha). How about you, dear readers? What’s the beauty buy that got you a lot of bang for your buck?

Hope to hear from y’all, cheers!

3 thoughts on “{Review} Nyx Box of Eye Shadows (112 Colors)”

  1. Pingback: Homepage

Leave a Comment

