Ateneo de Manila in Lomography

I like film cameras. I actually have an SLR and I’m learning photography on that much better than a digital one if only because maintaining a film SLR is so expensive. Film is expensive, developing is expensive so I have to more or less get the shots correctly (than say trying and guessing and getting lucky on a digital camera).

Anyway, back in college, lomography became more well-known to the community. I was also independently studying photography via books then, and as I didn’t have money to buy certain kinds of lenses, I thought lomography was a great way to take fisheye shots without buying expensive fisheye lens. So I got myself a Fisheye No. 2.

The thing is, taking quirky point and shoot pictures can be addicting. Soon after, I bought a supersampler. I now have four film cameras, with a Disderi Robot 3 Lens added to the family during my graduation trip to Hong Kong.

Here are some shots I took of my university with my first two lomo cameras:


The Blue Bridge. I love how the light leaked into the film on this one and the colors are wonderful.


Valentine’s Day, maybe 2007/2008? Fixing chocolates and what not to sell in the Ateneo Student Exchange Council room with Lilia. Double exposure.


Belarmine Field. Recently, a helicopter landed here. When I asked around though, nobody seemed to care or wonder why it did or who was in the helicopter. They were more excited and went about updating their social media about the fact that this weird thing happened but didn’t bother to look into it. It made me sad for them.

I’ve also got great memories on this field. Most notable are the Battle of Belfield and the Bonfire 2007, wherein it rained prior and the whole field was a mucky muddy mess but the events were fantastic. All succeeding bonfires paled in comparison to that one.


Belarmine Parking Lot


Ateneo has a pair of trash cans for every ten steps you make. It’s weird but this habit of keeping surroundings clean by the mere presence of bins is something I miss. All of Philippines can learn from this practice–why litter, when there’s a bin just a few steps away?


See? They didn’t bother changing this ratty old sign the four years I was there because in the tens of thousands enrolled in the school, only a small sample size litters. And we had a lot of staff, so it was a rare thing if I actually saw any crap on the grounds. I never did, actually.


This is the then newly-constructed red brick road in 2007. We were taking the students from Sophia University on a tour of the campus grounds.


Senior year. Some blockmates and I with the Dean of Humanities, Ma’m Vilches. We were actually Social Science students but Ma’m Vilches invited us for a catch-up-slash-goodbye-go-into-the-world-young-children merienda. She was our Introduction to Ateneo class teacher in our freshman year.

And so, down from the hill we went.

I miss the hill.

2 thoughts on “Ateneo de Manila in Lomography”

  1. great post. i recently got into film photography too, and as i always wanted to try out alternative photography styles like lomo etc, i got myself an original LC-A.. fantastic. now i got a holga 120 and a diana+ on the way. hahah. sure, theyre cheap and plasticky, but u cant get those styles on digital, not even with the best filters. just doesnt happen.

    Like

    1. Too true! I’ve got a bunch of happy accidents on my supersampler shots–I open the back of the camera on purpose to burn a bit of the film. I lose a couple of shots, but the light streaks in other shots are fantastic (like the blue walkway in this post). Would love to see your photos soon! Thanks for following!

      Like

Leave a Comment

