{Product Review} NYX Round Lipstick in Echo

Since I loved my NYX purchases and the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Creme in Addis Ababa post continues to be the most searched on my blog, I decided to do more NYX reviews!

Last week, I bought two NYX nude lippies–Stockholm Matte Lip Creme and Echo Round Lipstick. I’m going to do a review of Echo first.

“NYX Round Lipstick is our classic lipstick for all-year round. The mineral-based emollient formula offers a beautiful velvet texture, saturated color and it resists wear and smudging. It’s your go-to lipstick. From Pure Nude to Pink Lyric to Chic Red, Round Lipstick is available in a jaw-dropping 144 shades”. – NYX WEBSITE

Just to give you an idea of how many shades their Round Lipstick line has, check out this lovely display of NYX Round Lipsticks:

Lovely colors, no? Now let’s go to a close-up of the Echo Round Lipstick. It comes in a standard lipstick tube with the shade name and net weight on top and a sample of the shade at the bottom.

When I opened the cap, the color wasn’t the same as the bottom of the tube.

NYX Round Lipstick in Echo is a light-medium nude shade (leans towards beige) with yellow undertones. This will look better with Asian skin.

However, when applied the color is actually closer to the preview at the bottom of the tube! 

This product comes on really wet. A lot of reviews call it “creamy” but I digress. It feels wet, like it’s going to run off, not creamy. Thankfully though, it does not run off your lips. This feeling stays with you awhile though.

I have pigmented lips and this shade perfectly covered my lips with a couple of coats. I realized this when I kept looking for a good nude or natural looking shade that didn’t wash me out and realized that a lippie that looks natural on me has pinkish undertones.

Without flash and with flash, without product.

And here’s a picture of Echo when worn, without flash and then with flash:

See the difference between the color from the tube, when applied on the arm and when applied on the lips? That’s the only tricky thing about NYX Lippies, so make sure you try them on your lips first.

What I don’t like about this product is that it has an overpowering floral fragrance. It’s a lipstick, not a perfume. It also doesn’t last as long as my other lipsticks, but that’s not a big issue.

So in a nutshell, the pros are: great nude color, affordable price, hydrating, pigmented

Cons: fragrance, staying power.

Definitely more pros than cons πŸ™‚

Product Rating: β™₯β™₯β™₯. It’d be higher because it’s a great color and is really affordable, but the strength of the fragrance coupled with the really wet feeling after application is strange and can be a deal breaker.

Will I Buy This Product Again: I don’t know yet–not because I don’t like the product, but because I don’t see the need of buying another nude lipstick in the exact same shade. I doubt I’ll even finish this tube as I’ve never used up any of my lipsticks.

6 thoughts on “{Product Review} NYX Round Lipstick in Echo

  1. how much is this? honestly, I haven’t been obsessed with the Nyx lipstick even though they are a huge hit in the market nowadays.. I hope I can grab one soon!

    Like

    1. Hi Theresa! You should try them out, if only to experiment with colors. πŸ™‚ I prefer Estee Lauder lipsticks, but the price is insane! So I only get those as gifts to myself, on very special occasions. The Round Lipstick only costs PHP150. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Comment

