{Book Review} The Best of Chico and Delamar’s The Morning Rush Top 10

The Best of Chico and Delamar’s The Morning Rush Top 10
April 4, 2011
5 out of 5

When I saw this book in National, I immediately picked it up and knew I had to buy it. I’ve been listening to Chico and Delamar since I was in second grade, back when they still weren’t comfortable with each other and some radio stations transfers before RX. If they shifted stations (and they did), we’d follow them. Every morning, while stuck in traffic on the way to school, I’d listen to them and the Top 10. I absolutely love their humor and it probably did influence mine as I grew up. I even remember texting entries in during grade school 

This book is a compilation of the funniest, most memorable Top 10 lists they’ve done in their show. While there are a couple of duplicated entries (submitted in different lists/themes), the book is still a great laugh. I found myself laughing out loud a lot, feeling second hand embarrassment from some of the stories, grinning at the quirky drawings and reflecting about some of the entries I didn’t understand until it hit me and I’d be either laughing or going “OMG!!” (an entry about a salami, a gay guy and a coin bank produced this reaction, among others). I also could not read this book without hearing Chico Garcia reading the entries out loud in my head, with appropriate exclamations from Del. 

It’s an extremely short read since everything is in list form, but the humor is definitely worth every peso.

4 thoughts on “{Book Review} The Best of Chico and Delamar’s The Morning Rush Top 10

  1. quoted from you “I also could not read this book without hearing Chico Garcia reading the entries out loud in my head, with appropriate exclamations from Del. ” that’s one way of having a quality reading hehehe 🙂 is vince golanco (did I spell it right) also from that radio station right? I saw him in person hosting a premiere night movie at rob galle.. I am also a fan of RX way back HS days when I use to listen to radio the whole day!

    Like

Leave a Comment

