{Book Review} Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Someone online recommended this to me, based on a list of my favorite series (predictably, they’re the popular fantasy novels with a boy hero protagonist and a strong female somewhere in the story–Harry Potter, Animorphs, Percy Jackson, etc). Some friends were even surprised that I haven’t read this yet, which makes me feel like my book tastes are utterly predictable (they are).

The beginning of the book was a bit slow for me. The introduction of many characters and the third-person omniscient point of view was a definite change from the usual third-person limited POV I’m used to reading in these kinds of stories. It was grueling, at first, to read about the new characters and their backgrounds without anything really happening. But when they all met, things started moving at a faster pace and I was treated to different sides of the story–I ended up enjoying it.

Kudos to the person who told me to read this–it’s got everything I love in YA fantasy–creatures, moral dilemmas, strong females, action and adventure, fun characters, funny dialogue with the added bonus of slightly gory fight scenes. I’m probably going to lock myself in my room and marathon the rest of the series now.

View all my reviews

One thought on “{Book Review} Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Leave a Comment

