Tags

, , , , ,

If you’re following my Facebook and Twitter, you’ll know I’ve been updating with habagat news and ways to help. I thought I’d do a proper blog post about it instead of just on my tumblr, so here we go:

This is a CNN News Article on what’s happening in my country right now. Check it out, has a bunch of pictures too.

Manila, Philippines (CNN) – Millions of people in the Philippines suffered further torrential rains Wednesday, as deadly floods claimed several more lives and kept many people from returning to their deluged homes.

Forecasters say still more rain is on the way, fueled by seasonal monsoon rains and a nearby tropical storm, but it should start to ease soon.

Here’s a PRECAUTIONS infographic, a thesis of some students in the Ateneo after similar events happened in Typhoon Ondoy.

(by Marko Parungo)

While I’ve been watching and getting increasingly worried at the news reports (and having mini-freak outs when my friends take hours to reply to a text message)–all the while using Facebook and Twitter to help spread information, here are some things that put a smile on my face the last couple of days.

I think  it’s both heartbreaking and heartwarming that Filipinos are so used to this kind of devastation that they can smile through it—lost homes and all. They’re still happy to be alive,  still have enough in them despite all they’ve lost and the worries they’re facing from this to show people they’re still okay.

HEARTWARMING (GIVES-ME-HOPE) THINGS I’VE SEEN:

Translation: To everyone who’s asking ‘How are you’ Well, here I am! I’m okay. ;) Hahaha :D

8/8/2012 Relief Operations in Ateneo de Manila, via Sir Migoy Lizada:

Today.

Was assigned to be the point person/coordinator for the Clothes section (sorting according to size and all that) in the covered courts relief ops. Amidst the mad frenzy of sorting and packing, I felt someone tap my waist. I turned around, looked down and found a boy who looked like Russel from the Pixar’s “Up.” He was huffing and puffing and his blue Ateneo shirt was already wet with sweat.

“Excuse me! Do you need anymore help? I can lend a hand.

Habagat – Hindi Ako Bagyo, Ako’y Gusts at Thunderstorms. (Ariel Diccion, 2012)

If people who are locked up for crimes–who survive on rationed meals (and are without the comforts of personal possessions and family) and children can help wholeheartedly, so can you.

WHAT YOU CAN DO TO HELP:

DONATE

  • Canned goods, biscuits, ready-to-eat food packs
  • Toiletries, tissue, sanitary napkins
  • Water
  • Medicine, Alcohol (70% Isoprophyl), Betadine, Bandages
  • Blankets
  • Money
  • @Binalot accepts pledges 4 hot meals wrapped in BananaLeaves since many evac centers cant cook meals/open canned goods.http://on.fb.me/BinalotRelief  (Good idea, but for the health of their motorists, I didn’t go for this)

VOLUNTEER

WHERE:

  • DSWD
  • In all major universities (Ateneo de Manila–too many volunteer here though, try somewhere else, DLSU-Taft, UP Diliman)
  • Other universities  UA&P in particular lacks volunteers
  • NGOs – check your FB and Twitter for the ones nearest your area

HOW TO DONATE (ONLINE)

  •  World Vision. This link will take you to the donation form. Your donation will go directly to the current flood relief operations (not sure about where the Red Cross fund will actually go to, if they’ll divide it with their other efforts). You can donate as low as P500 (US$12). A P3000 (US$73) donation will cover a survival kit of food and non-food items for six people good for two weeks. If you can spare a bit, please do donate! One KPOP CD for you can mean food, water and toiletries for six people for two weeks.
  • PH Red Cross Main Red Cross Donation Page.
  • PH Red Cross Bank details for cash transactions (Peso and Dollar accounts), specifically for the flood victims.