[Product Review] Happy Skin: Shut Up & Kiss Me Lippie in Just Married

I first read about Happy Skin this January, in a Southern Living magazine in Starbucks (killing time since I arrived to work early). I became interested in the brand after knowing that Risa Mananquil-Trillo is one of the founders, and that products would be tailored for Filipina skin. While that alone was enough to get me interested, it was the fun names and cute packaging that left a recall.

Happy Skin believes that women should be able to live life to the fullest, worry-free! Happy Skin’s skin-loving products were designed to be fuss-free, easy-to-apply, and come in shades specifically formulated to complement Filipina skin tones. – src

Fast forward a couple of months where I realized I did not have a wearable pink shade for work. I have a lot of neutral and tawny tones, (I went through a long made-up eye, neutral lip look, but since both my office environment & job has changed [no longer in the Beauty / Fashion retail industry + no longer meeting clients/suppliers/sponsors on a weekly basis], I didn’t need to get too dolled up for work–concealer and mascara actually suffice most days) but not much in the way of other colors. Of the two pink lip colors I had, one was too sheer, the other too loud.

So the hunt began for a work-wearable pink shade! My criteria for this was:

  1. No fuss; can apply and re-apply without having to put concealer on my lips to make the color show better (this was the case with my sheer pink shade)
  2. Simple enough to wear daily without looking overdone

I traipsed through the Beauty Section of Trinoma looking for the perfect, work-appropriate pink lipstick, swatching my lip colors on my arm from different brands and comparing their prices, trying not to succumb to the pressure of buying, knowing that the salesladies gossip about that annoying customer who tries so many things but doesn’t buy anything. My search led me to Plains and Prints, remembering that Happy Skin’s lippies were highly recommended.

I tried  their Shut Up & Kiss Me lippies and ultimately settled on getting Just Married (haha see the pun there).  I wasn’t truly convinced at first, honestly. I think I ended up buying the product because I liked the sales person; she wasn’t overselling anything and she didn’t make me feel like I should just leave if I was just going to try everything and not buy. Also, we talked about the shades of pink I had on my arm (she was surprised that some foreign brands had affordable lipsticks).

HappySkin3These photos were taken in February 2014. Product hadn’t been used yet.

It’s been more than three months since I made my purchase and I can definitively say: I love my Happy Skin lippie!

There are a lot of things that work in Happy Skin’s favor in regards to marketing: that it’s co-conceptualized by a model, someone who has spent most of her life being made up, having various imported and local products on face; that it’s made by women for women; that it’s tailored for Filipinas; that the products are made by career women and understand the need for quick and easy to apply products.

HappySkin1

The packaging is a great plus. A lot of girls are suckers for cute packaging, me included (even if we do end up throwing the boxes away later). Though it is reminiscent of how Benefit packages and names their items, Happy Skin has more consistent packaging and product names (with the exception of the self-explanatory Second Skin Creme).

HappySkin4

The packaging even has instructions on how to use this jumbo lip crayon, perfect for girls who’re just getting started with make-up!

HappySkin2a

This lippie offers three-fold “lip service”: the shine of a gloss, the pigment of a lipstick, and hydration of a balm! Spoil yourself with Shea Butter & Collagen to keep your lips in lip-lockin’ shape! – src

Product when worn:BoOoHNhIUAAGJqM

What I love:

  • It’s really moisturizing! I usually need to use my EOS lip balm before I put on lipstick, but with this I can swipe it on and bounce out the door
  • The color is pigmented, so it shows up easily (hooray for no more concealer-first-just-to-make-a-color-show-up hassle!)
  • Has no scent
  • Lasts on your lips for a decent amount of time (3 hours or so)
  • Will last you a long time. Here’s a photo of my lippie right now,  and I’ve been using it almost daily for two months:

BoOoJpbIYAA6_CD
(This photo was taken on May 21, 2014)

Will I buy it again: YESSS GIMME GIMME. Good quality, color, cute packaging, extra benefits (moisturizing). The price is a bit steep compared to other local brands, but you won’t get this quality and amount of product with other local brands–it’s definitely worth the price!

Happy Skin Shut Up and Kiss Me Lippie (Php499) is available in selected Plains & Prints branches as well as online at happyskincosmetics.com.

BONUS! Color comparison:

pinks

A quick side-by-side comparison of my pink shades (the 3CE lipcrayon is pink-purple in tone but I’m putting it here because when applied, it’s reminiscent of the Barbie logo I grew up with.)

2 thoughts on “[Product Review] Happy Skin: Shut Up & Kiss Me Lippie in Just Married

Leave a Comment

