Transfer Images with a Blender Pen

I’ve been playing with rub-ons and letter transfers since I was kid. We had quite a lot of them, and I’m not sure if we got them here or we bought them whenever we stayed in Oman (where my dad used to work). Now that I’m crafting and not just playing, it’s been harder to find image/letter transfers locally (which is frustrating because I could get them at Target, the dollar store, etc when I was in New York).

So ever the stubborn one,ย I tried looking for ways to Do It Myself. And I found what seems to be the easiest and readily available way. Emphasis on ‘readily available’ since it’s so hard to look for crafting materials here in the Philippines!

Materials needed:
Blender Pen
Photocopy of your image

1) Select theย image you want to transfer. I print photos and drawings, cut out magazines, and even choose images from coloring books.

img_20160120_220727.jpg
I printed a photo for this one.

If you’re printing an image, make sure to reverse it. A transferred image always shows up reversed, so there’s not much you can do with a magazine photo (unless there’s a setting to flip the image before you photocopy it?).

2) Once you’ve chosen an image, photocopy it.

3) Place the photocopied image, ink side down, on your paper. Go over it with the blender pen until the image shows through/is completely saturated.

Here’s a quick, 25-second video to show you how:

Don’t worry about getting your paper slightly damp; this dries without any marks.

 

Here’s the result of the image on the video once dry:

image
This one was a photocopy of a coloring book image.

Here’s a couple more samples:

This is a magazine image, photocopied. The image on the right is the back side of the paper, where the image showed through. I like the effect, though. This was transferred on 80 GSM paper.

 

Another coloring book image on my Starbucks Moleskine planner. I colored her in a bit:

image

 

Tips:ย 

  • The more times you blend over the image, the darker your transfer will be. So if you don’t want much of a show-through on the page, just go over the image once or twice. I do this for my Moleskine images since the paper is really thin.
  • Try rubbing the back of the paper transfer (once it’s damp) with a spoon.
  • Blend in a well-ventilated area. This has the addicting scent ofย marker floating in waves whenever you use it.

 

Have fun!

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

