Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks

ColourPop Liquid Lipstick on Asian Skin

Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks
Look at them lovelies!

I first learned about Colourpop in April when a friend of mine bulk-ordered liquid lippies. I’m not a big lip color person so I just opted for one lippie stix (Bichette, a wine red in matte finish).

Fast forward a month later and my cousin gave me a couple of Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks  in Ultra Matte. I was hooked–the formulation is very drying but the colors are lovely and it stays on a whole day longer than any of my matte lippies, and truly look matte when they dry.

And as you probably know by now, Kylie Lip Kits are manufactured by the same company as Colourpop, contain the same ingredients, come with a handwritten note on a card per order, and are even in the same easily-erasable liquid lip glass packaging. It’s basically your usual version of a high-end, low-end brand (think Kerastase, L’Oreal, and Garnier) and of course, as a bargain-lover, I had to get more.

Here’s my recent haul:

Colourpop Liquid Lipstick in Tube
*Stingraye is owned by a friend and was mixed in the photo for comparison purposes only. I don’t own it and I forgot to take a swatch, even though my friend offered. Oops.

I now have seven Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lippies and one in Ultra Satin.

I’m going to do a quick rundown per color based on my how I liked it with my Asian skin / skin tone since this is what I noticed was lacking  when I was trying to research Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks before I purchased. I’m not going to do a full review because you can find lots of really good ones online already.

Here are the colors when swatched:

Colourpop Liquid Lipstick Swatches

Overall, Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks are:

  • Drying (just moisturize beforehand and exfoliate every few days)
  • Must be removed with an oil-based remover. (TIP: You can also try lip balm–put lip balm over the Colourpop and wipe)
  • Extremely pigmented. One swipe will give you enough color (and they’re pretty hard to layer, so get it right. TIP: Use a lip liner)
  • The lighter colors generally stay put longer than darker ones

inmidnights line break

Lots of photos of me under the cut. Beware.

BAD HABIT

  • A different color from what they have on the site. The color in the tube is much darker.
  • I don’t like this color on me. I feel like it gives me the “I’m really sick but I decided to go and face the world with the power of my lipstick anyway” vibes.
  • This is one of the lippies my cousin gave me.

Colourpop Bad Habit

BUMBLE

  • Also a different color from what’s on the site. It’s redder and pinker when applied.
  • I tried using concealer on my lips first to see if I’d get the same result.
  • Despite the color discrepancy, it is still a nice shade on Asian skin.
Colourpop Bumble
No concealer
Colourpop Bumble on Asian Skin
with concealer

INSTIGATOR

    • My cousin’s other gift.
    • This is one of my ultimate faves! ♥ (My love affair with nude-peach lippies is still going strong.)
    • It stays on forever and brightens my face.

Colourpop Instigator on Asian Skin

Have a big photo because I like my brows here:

Colourpop Instigator on Asian Skin
Colourpop Instigator on lips
Fanny Serrano Gel Eyeliner on brows

KAE

  • This is the first color I decided to buy (although I bought six in one go, but this still  has the honor of the first one I chose).
  • It’s a warm brown from the Karrueche x Colourpop Collection.
  • NEEDS LIP LINER IN ORDER TO AVOID LOOKING LIKE A CHOCOLATE MESS (or that’s just me haha)

Colourpop Kae on Asian Skin

Colourpop Kae Matte Liquid Lipstick on Asian Skin
TOO LAZY TO PUT ON MAKE-UP. MY FOREHEAD SAYS HI.

LIMBO

  • Okay, so I was debating on whether to get this one too since I was already getting Kae, which is a really close color. But based on reviews, while this is close to Kae, it’s a cooler-toned brown than Kae.
  • This is the dupe for Kylie’s True Brown K.
  • So since I wasn’t sure if the warmer or cooler tone suited my skin color and I really wanted a nice brown lippie, I got both.
  • I. LOVE. THIS. This turned out to be my favorite purchase from the lot.
  • It also NEEDS LIP LINER IN ORDER TO AVOID LOOKING LIKE A CHOCOLATE MESS.

Colourpop Limbo on Asian Skin and Colored Hair

MESS AROUND

    • Mess Around is the only Satin finish I bought. I like sticking to the Matte ones since they don’t budge but I wanted to try a gray-ish color and they didn’t have any that I liked enough in Matte.
    • This was basically my “well let’s go outside my comfort zone!!” purchase.
    • EDIT: 7/24: I am pleased to announce that it paid off! BUT only with a full face of make-up. It makes me look pale/sick without make-up.
wp-image-1832865953jpg.jpg
Look at them lovelies!

Colourpop Mess Around Asian Skin

OUIJI

  • Ouiji is a bright coral shade that I fell in love with when I saw it on the site.
  • Like most of the colors, it turned out slightly pinker in real life–even with concealer.
  • It’s still a really nice, fun color and this is my second fave from my purchase.
  • It applies thinner than the other colors.
Colourpop Ouiji Matte Liquid Lipstick on Asian Skin
No flash + No make-up.
Colourpop Ouiji Matte Liquid Lipstick on Asian Skin
With concealer and flash.

SOLOW

  • Solow is a nice pale pink.
  • I like it, but not as much as I thought I would. Again, it’s darker than it is online.
  • It’s a good everyday pink lipstick but I think I prefer Happy Skin’s Just Married over this, since Happy Skin is moisturizing enough that I don’t mind re-applying that.
Colourpop Solow Matte Liquid Lipstick on Asian Skin
Solow in white (mall) light
Colourpop Solow Matte Liquid Lipstick
Solow in yellow-ish light

And that ends my slightly-a-review, more ‘this is how Colourpop looks with Asian skin’ post. See you around, lovelies!

All photos are taken with a Samsung Galaxy S7. We bought Colourpop from their online website. EDIT: 12/22 If you’re buying from the Philippines, I strongly suggest looking for a legit seller instead of ordering online. Colourpop’s customer service is a nightmare.

Leave a Comment

